An official website of the United States government

Fulbright Program
Two women sign papers

Ambassador Harpootlian and Slovenian Minister of Education Kustec sign a new MOU on the Fulbright Program



The Fulbright Program is the U.S. Government’s flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. It operates in more than 160 countries worldwide and has provided more than 380,000 participants with the opportunity to study, teach or conduct research, and exchange ideas.

Approximately 8,000 competitive, merit-based grants are awarded annually in most academic disciplines and fields of study.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB), composed of 12 educational and public leaders appointed by the President of the United States, formulates policies for the administration of the Fulbright Program, establishes criteria for the selection of candidates and selects candidates nominated for awards.